[POEM] My Dad Vernon

Standard

Every time someone calls my name
I am reminded of you
Your firstborn, your only daughter
The little girl following, watching who
Grew up, traveled far, yet never forgot
Lessons her father taught

Hamiltons do not lay down and play dead
They go down swinging instead
Be a lady, be graceful you must
Feint, weave and bob, then deliver that left upper cut
Go as far and as high as you can
Make your papa a very proud man

Well, Daddy, I’m still traveling true
And you tell me that’s dynamite
You catalogue each accomplishment
Exercising your paternal right
To proclaim what your namesake has done
Prophesying she’s only just begun

Thank you, sir, for being proud ‘at’ me
Thank you for being tall, dark and handsome too
Thank you for the excellent DNA
Thank you for giving me my Who

Since this is a poem and not a phone call
I’ll end it as neatly as I can
Let these words serve as an eternal record
My father is a great man

Love Always, V

About Verna L. Hamilton

Unapologetic tea aficionado travels world, drinks tea, and pours out words. Shares her passion for the Camellia Sinensis plant in all its forms -- black, oolong, green, white, pu-erh -- and, if done well, doesn't discriminate against rooibos, herbals, tisanes or other infusions. Uses tea as a bridge towards bringing people together. Cups up! #DrinkTea

Leave a Reply

