Rx for Winter Woes – Tisane Pharmacy

Standard

Winter is the time to build up physical and mental resources: I call it the Eat, Think, and Be Merry plan. One day recently emerged from a root beer float-inspired feast, I walked around Upper East Manhattan feeling the euphoric effects of having consumed red meat, potatoes, sugar, butter and cream all in one sitting. One cannot live by tea alone.

How could an unapologetic tea aficionado justify such food choices? It’s the season to be jolly. For me, jolly manifested as a medium-rare goat cheeseburger and fries paired with a tall, frosty root beer float. I repeat, one cannot live by tea alone.

Needless to say, Pilates moved up several slots on the next day’s to-do list.

Then shining out of the wintry cold darkness, my eyes beheld a sign: Tisane Pharmacy & Café. Could this be a hallucination? There was only one way to find out. Pulse quickening and strangely excited, I went inside from the cold.

Place For What Ails You

Here at 340 East 86th Street is a rare find: a pharmacy promoting better health via tea, herbs and vitamins… and sells CHOCOLATE.

“Who needs pharmacy frequent purchase reward points when there’s tea and chocolate?” I asked myself.

Good question.

 

 

 

Tisane Pharmacy and Café, located near the 86th Street Station [6], also sells hard-to-find Roger & Gallet Thé Vert (Green Tea) soap. Yes! My senses rejoiced over this fragrant discovery as the aroma refreshed and warmed my tea-loving heart. Speaking of temperature, it was time again to go face the elements.

Lesson For Winter

Tisane Pharmacy and Café is no hallucination. If there’s any doubt, then call them at 212.517.0037. Looking at display as I departed the store, I developed a simple lesson for this season: Even though a root beer float is all right, tea remains at the core and herbs are what’s left.

Here’s to keeping tea in the center and our cups full of great things. Cups up!

Leave a Reply

